PCP members win the 7th Population and Development Media Awards



The Philippine Center for Photojournalism congratulates Ms. Kara Santos, IPS News Agency for winning the Grand Prize and Runner-up for Best News Reportage and Former PCP Chairperson Joan Bondoc of the Philippine Daily Inquirer, for winning 1st Runner-up for Best Single Photo.

PLCPD and organizers recognize the 7th PopDev Media Awards winnersIn a simple ceremony last November 29, PLCPD and the organizers recognized the winners of the 7th Population and Development Media Awards. Now on its 7th run, the PopDev Media Awards continued to pay tribute to print, broadcast, and online journalists, photojournalists, and bloggers nationwide who have produced, aired, and published exemplary news and feature articles, programs, photos and blogs on population and development issues.

The 7th PopDev Media Awards had four categories namely: Citizen Media, Photojournalism, Print and Online, and Broadcast.

The winners in the Print and Online Category are: Ms. Kara Santos of IPS News Agency, winner and runner-up for Best News Reportage; Ms. Ana Santos of Newsbreak (runner-up) and Ms. Lira Dalangin-Fernandez formerly of Inquirer.net (winner) for Best Investigative Report; Mr. Juan L. Mercado of Sun.Star Cebu (runner-up) and Ms. Patricia Evangelista of Philippine Daily Inquirer (winner) for Best Opinion Piece; Ms. Ma. Bernadette Reyes of GMA News Online (runner-up) and Ms. Charlene C. Tordesillas, Ms. Rorie R. Fajardo, Mr. Michael Tan, Mr. Fortunato Tacuboy III, and Ms. Karol Anne M. Ilagan, fellow of Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (winners) for Best Feature or Magazine Article.

In the Photojournalism category, Mr. Sonny Espiritu of Manila Standard bagged the Best Single Photo award while Ms. Joan Bondoc of the Philippine Daily Inquirer was runner-up. In the Citizen Media Category, the Best Text Blog was won by Mr. Mark Pere Madrona. Runner-up was Mr. Christopher Ryan Maboloc.

In the Broadcast Category, the award for Best Magazine Program or Talk Show was claimed by GMA News TV for staging RH Bill: The Grand Debate. Runner-up for said award was Bawal and Pasaway Kay Mareng Winnie of GMA News TV for the episode K+12 Education. The Best TV Documentary, on the other hand, went to Reporters’ Notebook of GMA News TV for the episode RH Bill: Sagot o Salot. Runners-up were Krusada of ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs for the episode Reproductive Health, and Front Row of GMA News TV for the episode Bente Dos.

No winners were declared for the Best Photo Blog, Best Photo Essay, and Best Radio Program awards.

The awarding ceremony for the 7th PopDev Media Awards was graced by Dr. Esperanza Cabral of the UNFPA, Dr. Soe Nyunt-U of World Health Organization, Ms. Bai Bagasao of UNAIDS, and legislators including Cong. Edcel Lagman, Cong. Angelica Amante-Matba, Cong. Abigail Faye Ferriol, Cong. Susan Yap, Cong. Emmi de Jesus, Cong. Antonio Tinio, Cong. Emmeline Aglipay, and Cong. Sharon Garin. The event was hosted by Ms. Pia Magalona and former Congressman Gilbert Remulla. The 7th PopDev Media Awards was supported by UNFPA and The Manila Bulletin.

Contact Person:
Maida T. Ojeda
926-6619 loc. 2/ 0918-3389363