PCP members honored for defending press freedom


The Photojournalists’ Center for Photojournalism, Inc. (PCP) extends congratulations to Fernando “Jun” Sepe Jr., Ezra Acayan and Basilio “Eli” Sepe for being among the honorees of this year’s SIKATO (Sigaw Para sa Katotohanan! Pagkilala sa Malayang Pamamahayag).

The three PCP members shared spotlight with top journalists who were recognized for receiving international acclaim in 2018. Jun Sepe, former PCP President and Deputy Editor for ABS-CBN News Digital Media’s multimedia unit, was honored for being an awardee in the interactive category of the International awards for factual content, International Association for International Broadcasting, for their work entitled “Stories from the under the rubble: Inside the battle of Marawi” Acayan, meanwhile, was recognized for winning the 2018 Grand Prize in the International Academic Forum Documentary Photography Awards for his work entitled “Duterte’s war on drugs is not over”, and of the Award for Achievement of the Ian Parry Scholarship.

SIKATO also honored Eli Sepe who was this year’s Photographer of the Year Awardee, International Photography Awards Filipino for his work “The enemy in the dark”. The award is the brainchild of the media and arts alliance LODI (Let’s Organize for Democracy and Integrity) that was formed for fight attacks on free expression and human rights.

The PCP salutes their determination, perseverance and sacrifice that catalysed this outstanding achievement. Not only this a great recognition, but an inspiration for us visual journalists to stand up to press freedom no matter where it is threatened, or by whom.